Saint Maud leads 41st annual London Critics’ Circle Film Awards, screams up eight nominations

Highly rated horror film Saint Maud has scooped eight nominations in the 41st annual London Critics’ Circle Film Awards, announced this morning. 

Rose Glass’ (pictured above) lauded spine-tingler was nominated in the Film, Director, Screenwriter, Actress (Morfydd Clark) and Supporting Actress (Jennifer Ehle) categories. In addition, the film has been nominated for British/Irish Film of the Year, with Clark is nominated for British/Irish Actress, a body-of-work award that includes her appearance in Eternal Beauty

Other leading contenders in this year’s awards include Sarah Gavron’s London coming-of-age story Rocks with six nominations, Chloé Zhao’s improvised American road movie Nomadland with five, and Emerald  Fennell’s black comedy thriller Promising Young Woman with four. Also earning four nominations were David Fincher’s Hollywood biopic Mank and Steve McQueen’s house-party drama Lovers Rock. McQueen is up for Director of the Year for his five Small Axe films. 

Rounding out the ten nominees for Film of the Year are Roy Andersson’s About Endlessness, Alexander Nanau’s journalism docu Collective, Charlie Kaufman’s existential black comedy I’m Thinking of Ending Things, Kevin Macdonald’s Guantanamo drama The Mauritanian and Lee Isaac Chung’s Korean-American immigrant saga Minari

Inevitably, films released directly to streaming services in 2020 were made eligible, and the qualifying release dates were extended into March…

Female filmmakers lead nominees for the London Critics’ Circle Film Awards

The late Chadwick Boseman received nominations both for his lead role in Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom and his supporting role in Da 5 Bloods. Other multiple acting nominees include Morfydd  Clark, Anthony Hopkins, Carey Mulligan, Riz Ahmed, Vanessa Kirby, Sacha Baron Cohen and  Rocks’ newcomer Bukky Bakray. 

The nominations were announced online today by actors Darci Shaw, who played the young Judy Garland alongside Renée Zellweger in Judy, and Henry Lloyd-Hughes, who appeared  opposite Keira Knightley in Joe Wright’s Anna Karenina. The two are starring together in Netflix’s upcoming supernatural Sherlock Holmes series The Irregulars, in which Lloyd-Hughes plays the iconic detective. 

Inevitably, films released directly to streaming services in 2020 were made eligible, and the qualifying release dates were extended into March, as long as films had been screened in 2020 to critics or at festivals.

“This additional eligibility has put an extra strain on our  members this year, watching more films than usual,” says Rich Cline, chair of the Critics’ Circle Film Section. “And indeed we named 224 features across our ballots, out of which 49 were  nominated. As always, there are some surprises that make our shortlists stand out, even in  this year’s rather unusual awards season. And it’s great to see such a range of talent  recognised, spread across genders, ethnicities and production budgets.” 

The 41st London Critics’ Circle Film Awards will be presented virtually on Sunday, February 7.  A physical event will be held later in the year, working with our long-standing sponsor The MayFair Hotel, to celebrate the winners and present this year’s Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Cinema. 

The event is the second major UK-centric Awards celebration this season, following on the South Bank Sky Arts Awards, announced last December.

London Critics’ Circle Film Awards 2021 nominations in full: 

Film of the Year
About Endlessness 
I’m Thinking of Ending Things 
Lovers Rock 
The Mauritanian 
Promising Young Woman 
Saint Maud 

Foreign-language film of the Year  
About Endlessness 
Another Round 
Les Misérables 

Documentary of the Year
Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets 
Dick Johnson Is Dead 
The Truffle Hunters 

The Attenborough Award 
British Irish film of the Year

The Father 
Lovers Rock 
Saint Maud 

Director of the Year
David Fincher – Mank 
Rose Glass – Saint Maud 
Kevin Macdonald – The Mauritanian 
Steve McQueen – Small Axe 
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland 

Screenwriter of the Year
Jack Fincher – Mank 
Rose Glass – Saint Maud 
Charlie Kaufman – I’m Thinking of Ending Things
Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of the Chicago 7 
Chloé Zhao – Nomadland 

Actress of the Year
Morfydd Clark – Saint Maud 
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom 
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman 
Frances McDormand – Nomadland 
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman 

Actor of the Year
Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal 
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom 
Anthony Hopkins – The Father 
Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods 
Tahar Rahim – The Mauritanian 

Supporting Actress of the Year
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm 
Ellen Burstyn – Pieces of a Woman 
Essie Davis – Babyteeth 
Jennifer Ehle – Saint Maud 
Amanda Seyfried – Mank 

Supporting Actor of the Year
Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7 
Chadwick Boseman – Da 5 Bloods 
Aldis Hodge – Clemency 
Ben Mendelsohn – Babyteeth 
Shaun Parkes – Mangrove 

British/Irish Actress of the Year(for body of work) 
Bukky Bakray – Rocks 
Jessie Buckley – I’m Thinking of Ending Things, Misbehaviour
Morfydd Clark – Eternal Beauty, Saint Maud 
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman, The World to Come 
Carey Mulligan – The Dig, Promising Young Woman 

British/Irish Actor of the Year (for body of work)
Riz Ahmed – Mogul Mowgli, Sound of Metal 
Sacha Baron Cohen – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, The Trial of the Chicago 7
John Boyega – Red, White and Blue 
Anthony Hopkins – The Father 
Cosmo Jarvis – Calm With Horses, Nocturnal 

The Philip French Award 
Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker

Henry Blake – County Lines 
Fyzal Boulifa – Lynn + Lucy 
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman 
Rose Glass – Saint Maud 
Remi Weekes – His House 

Young British irish performer
Kosar Ali – Rocks 
Bukky Bakray – Rocks 
Millie Bobby Brown – Enola Holmes 
Conrad Khan – County Lines 
Molly Windsor – Make Up

British/Irish short film
Filipiñana – Rafael Manuel, director 
Hungry Joe – Paul Holbrook, director 
Lizard – Akinola Davies Jr, director 
The Long Goodbye – Aneil Karia, director 
The Shift – Laura Carreira, director 

Technical Achievement
Ammonite – Stéphane Fontaine, cinematography 
Birds of Prey – Deborah Lamia Denaver & Adruitha Lee, makeup & hair Lovers Rock – Mica Levi, music 
Mank – Donald Graham Burt, production design 
Nomadland – Joshua James Richards, cinematography Rocks – Lucy Pardee, casting 
Soul – Pete Docter, animation 
Sound of Metal – Phillip Bladh, sound design 
Tenet – Jennifer Lame, film editing 
WolfWalkers – Tomm Moore & Ross Stewart

Animation Winners will be announced virtually on Sunday, February 7.

%d bloggers like this: