Technology

Universal to host Twitter movie parties, watch Halloween with Jamie Lee Curtis

Universal Pictures is organising weekly watch parties of some of its most popular films, starting with Halloween, Apollo 13 and The Breakfast Club, and we’re all invited. Taking place every Saturday, beginning May 16, audiences are invited to watch each movie along with special guests and hosts, allowing locked-down film fans to discuss their favourite scenes together on Twitter.

To join in the fun, we’re invited to follow the hosts, buy, rent or pull the DVD off the shelf, and press play at exactly 9pm BST (1pm PT / 4pm ET).  There’s a designated hashtag for each title, to participate and discuss.

What makes the initiative interesting are the special guests being lined up…  

How and when to join Universal’s Twitter Movie Watch parties

Halloween (May 16) hosted by @Blumhouse with Director David Gordon Green and Jamie Lee Curtis, along with John Carpenter, Jason Blum, Judy Greer, James Jude Courtney and Nick Castle. We’re assuming this is the latest Halloween… #HalloweenAtHome

Apollo 13 (May 23) hosted by former NASA Astronaut Scott Kelly (@StationCDRKelly). Recounting the true story of Apollo 13, the movie tells of  astronauts Jim Lovell (Tom Hanks), Fred Haise (Bill Paxton) and Jack Swigert (Kevin Bacon) struggle to retunr to Earth after their Moon mission goes drastically wrong. #Apollo13AtHome

The Breakfast Club (May 30)  hosted by @Nerdist #BreakfastClubAtHome

About Steve May

Creator of Home Cinema Choice magazine, Steve muses and reviews for Trusted Reviews, T3, TechRadar, Home Cinema Choice, Ideal Home, The Luxe Review, Channel News and the i newspaper. He’s also the editor of professional home cinema website Inside CI, and contributor to industry trade magazine ERT. He's on Twitter and Instagram as @SteveMay_UK

%d bloggers like this: