BAFTA EE British Academy Film Awards nominations celebrate diversity, Nomadland and Rocks lead the pack

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced nominations for the EE British Academy Film Awards 2021, and in a first for the organisation, four women have been nominated in the Director category. Reflecting a drive for greater diversity, three of the nominated directors are also nominated for Film Not in the English Language.

Nomadland and Rocks lead the pack with seven nominations, while The Father, Mank, Minari and Promising Young Woman earn six. The Dig and The Mauritanian get a fistful each.

The nominations were announced by Aisling Bea and Susan Wokoma at the Royal Albert Hall in London. This year, first-time nominees account for four of the six nominated Directors and 21 of the 24 nominees in the performance categories.

The Outstanding British Film category has increased from six to 10 nominations, three of which are also nominated for Best Film.

The Best Film nominations comprises The Father, The Mauritanian, Nomadland, Promising Young Woman, and The Trial of the Chicago 7. The Best Animated Film nominations went to Onward, Soul and Wolfwalkers.

“After last year’s nominations, we started the BAFTA Review process with the intention of levelling the playing field and introduced​ a range of measures to ensure that all entered films were seen by our members and judged on merit,” sais Krishnendu Majumdar, Chair of BAFTA. “We hope today you can see some of those changes reflected in the breadth and depth of those nominated and we congratulate all our nominees.”

This year, the EE British Academy Film Awards will be celebrated across the weekend of 10 and 11 April. Two shows, recognising the very best in film of the past year, will be broadcast virtually from London’s Royal Albert Hall. The first, celebrating the craft of film, will go out April 10, on BBC Two, while the main show will air sunday April 11. will be broadcast on BBC One.

BAFTA EE British Academy Film Awards nominations in full:

Best Film
The Father
The Mauritanian
Promising Young Woman
The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Outstanding British Film
Calm With Horses
The Dig
The Father
His House
The Mauritanian
Mogul Mowgli
Promising Young Woman
Saint Maud

David Attenborough: A Life On Our Planet
The Dissident
My Octopus Teacher
The Social Dilemma

Animated Film

Another Round – Thomas Vinterberg
Babyteeth – Shannon Murphy
Minari – Lee Isaac Chung
Nomadland – Chloe Zhao
Quo Vadis, Aida? – Jasmila Zbanic
Rocks – Sarah Gavron

Leading Actress
Bukky Bakray – Rocks
Radha Blank – The Forty-Year-Old Version
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces Of A Woman
Frances McDormand – Nomadland
Wunmi Mosaku – His House
Alfre Woodard – Clemency

Leading Actor
Riz Ahmed – Sound Of Metal
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Adarsh Gourav – The White Tiger
Anthony Hopkins – The Father
Mads Mikkelsen – Another Round
Tahar Rahim – The Mauritanian

Supporting Actress
Niamh Algar – Calm With Horses
Kosar Ali – Rocks
Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Dominique Fishback – Judas And The Black Messiah
Ashley Madekwe – County Lines
Yuh-Jung Youn – Minari

Supporting Actor
Daniel Kaluuya – Judas And The Black Messiah
Barry Keoghan – Calm With Horses
Alan Kim – Minari
Leslie Odom Jr – One Night In Miami…
Clarke Peters – Da 5 Bloods
Paul Raci – Sound Of Metal

Original Score
Mank – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
Minari – Emile Mosseri
News Of The World – James Newton Howard
Promising Young Woman – Anthony Willis
Soul – Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Original Screenplay
Another Round – Tobias Lindholm, Thomas Vinterberg
Mank – Jack Fincher
Promising Young Woman – Emerald Fennell
Rocks – Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson
The Trial Of The Chicago 7 – Aaron Sorkin

Adapted Screenplay
The Dig – Moira Buffini
The Father – Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller
The Mauritanian – Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, MB Traven
Nomadland – Chloé Zhao
The White Tiger – Ramin Bahrani

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
His House – Remi Weekes (writer/director)
Limbo – Ben Sharrock (writer/director), Irune Gurtubai (producer)
Moffie – Jack Sidey (writer/producer)
Rocks – Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (writers)
Saint Maud – Rose Glass (writer/director), Oliver Kassman (producer)

Film Not in the English Language
Another Round
Dear Comrades!
Les Miserables
Quo Vadis, Aida?

Calm With Horses – Shaheen Baig
Judas And The Black Messiah – Alexa L Fogel
Minari – Julia Kim
Promising Young Woman – Lindsay Graham Ahanonu, Mary Vernieu
Rocks – Lucy Pardee

Judas And The Black Messiah – Sean Bobbitt
Mank – Erik Messerschmidt
The Mauritanian – Alwin H Kuchler
News Of The World – Dariusz Wolski
Nomadland – Joshua James Richards

The Father – Yorgos Lamprinos
Nomadland – Chloe Zhao
Promising Young Woman – Frederic Thoraval
Sound Of Metal – Mikkel EG Nielsen
The Trial Of The Chicago 7 – Alan Baumgarten

Production Design
The Dig – Maria Djurkovic, Tatiana Macdonald
The Father – Peter Francis, Cathy Featherstone
Mank – Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale
News Of The World – David Crank, Elizabeth Keenan
Rebecca – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

Costume Design
Ammonite – Michael O’connor
The Dig – Alice Babidge
Emma – Alexandra Byrne
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Ann Roth
Mank – Trish Summerville

Make Up and Hair
The Dig – Jenny Shircore
Hillbilly Elegy – Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom – Matiki Anoff, Larry M Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal
Mank – Kimberley Spiteri, Gigi Williams
Pinocchio – Mark Coulier

News Of The World – Michael Fentum, William Miller, Mike Prestwood Smith, John Pritchett, Oliver Tarney
Nomadland – Sergio Diaz, Zach Seivers, M. Wolf Snyder
Soul – Coya Elliott, Ren Klyce, David Parker
Sound Of Metal – Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortés, Michelle Couttolenc

Special Visual Effects
Greyhound – Pete Bebb, Nathan Mcguinness, Sebastian Von Overheidt
The Midnight Sky Matt Kasmir – Chris Lawrence, David Watkins
Mulan – Sean Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury
The One And Only Ivan – Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis, Greg Fisher
Tenet – Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, Andrew Lockley

EE Rising Star Award
Bukky Bakray
Kingsley Ben-Adir
Morfydd Clark
Sope Dirisu

British Short Animation
The Fire Next Time – Renaldho Pelle, Yanling Wang, Kerry Jade Kolbe
The Owl And The Pussycat – Mole Hill, Laura Duncalf
The Song Of A Lost Boy – Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein

%d bloggers like this: