The Power of the Dog leads 42nd London Critics’ Circle Film Awards nominations

Jane Campion directs on location for Power of the Dog

Female directors are to the fore in the nominations for the 42nd annual London Critics’ Circle Film Awards. Leading the field is veteran director Jane Campion’s psychological western The Power of the Dog, which scored nine nominations. Next, with six and five nominations respectively, are first-time director Maggie Gyllenhaal’s Elena Ferrante adaptation The Lost Daughter and British auteur Joanna Hogg’s cine-memoir The Souvenir Part II.

More than 180 critics across print, online and broadcast media voted for this year’s nominations. As is tradition, the May Fair hotel London will host the Circle’s awards ceremony, where the winners will be announced on February 6 2022.

Campion is up for Film, Director and Screenwriter of the Year, and the film’s stars Benedict Cumberbatch, Kirsten Dunst, Kodi Smit-McPhee and Jesse Plemons are all nominated. 

Also in the running for  Film of the Year field are Ryûsuke Hamaguchi’s Drive My Car, Kenneth Branagh’s autobiographical Belfast and Steven Spielberg’s West Side Story, which each score four nominations, as well as Denis Villeneuve’s Dune, Paul Thomas Anderson’s Licorice Pizza, Apichatpong Weerasethakul’s Memoria and Julia Ducournau’s Titane.

Actors with multiple nominations include Cumberbatch, Ruth Negga, Joanna Scanlan, Andrew Garfield, Olivia Colman and Jessie Buckley. 

Japanese writer-director Hamaguchi is the year’s most-nominated individual, contending for Film, Director, Screenwriter and Foreign Language Film of the Year.

Jane Campion is up for Film, Director and Screenwriter of the Year…

Rich Cline, chair of the Critics’ Circle Film Section, said: “Because our members see so many movies, our nominations tend to look a bit different from other groups, finding a diverse selection of worthy talent in studio blockbusters as well as low-budget indies.”

The 42nd London Critics’ Circle Film Awards nominees in full:

Film of the Year

Drive My Car
Licorice Pizza
The Lost Daughter
The Power of the Dog
The Souvenir Part II
West Side Story

Foreign Language film of the year 
Drive My Car
The Hand of God
Petite Maman
The Worst Person in the World

Documentary of the Year
The Most Beautiful Boy in the World
Summer of Soul
The Velvet Underground

British/Irish film of the Year
After Love
The Green Knight
The Souvenir Part II

Director of the Year
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Ryûsuke Hamaguchi – Drive My Car
Joanna Hogg – The Souvenir Part II
Céline Sciamma – Petite Maman
Denis Villeneuve – Dune

Screenwriter of the Year
Paul Thomas Anderson – Licorice Pizza
Wes Anderson – The French Dispatch
Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog
Maggie Gyllenhaal – The Lost Daughter
Ryûsuke Hamaguchi and Takamasa Oe – Drive My Car

Actress of the Year
Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter
Penélope Cruz – Parallel Mothers
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person in the World
Joanna Scanlan – After Love
Kristen Stewart – Spencer

Actor of the Year
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog
Adam Driver – Annette
Andrew Garfield – Tick, Tick… Boom!
Oscar Isaac – The Card Counter
Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah

Supporting actress of the Year
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Ariana DeBose – West Side Story
Kirsten Dunst – The Power of the Dog
Rita Moreno – West Side Story
Ruth Negga – Passing

Supporting actor of the Year
Richard Ayoade – The Souvenir Part II
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog
Jeffrey Wright – The French Dispatch

British/Irish actress of the Year (for body of work)
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter/Mothering Sunday/Ron’s Gone Wrong/The Mitchells vs The Machines/The Electrical Life of Louis Wain
Ruth Negga – Passing/Poly Styrene: I Am a Cliché
Joanna Scanlan – After Love
Tilda Swinton – Memoria/The Souvenir Part II/The French Dispatch

British/Irish actor of the Year (for body of work)
Riz Ahmed – Encounter
Adeel Akhtar – Ali & Ava/The Nest/The Electrical Life of Louis Wain/Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Power of the Dog/The Electrical Life of Louis Wain/The Courier
Andrew Garfield – Tick, Tick… Boom!/The Eyes of Tammy Faye/Mainstream
Stephen Graham – Boiling Point/Venom: Let There Be Carnage

Breakthrough British/Irish Fimmaker
Prano Bailey-Bond – Censor
Rebecca Hall – Passing
Aleem Khan – After Love
Marley Morrison – Sweetheart
Ben Sharrock – Limbo

Young British/Irish performer
Max Harwood – Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
Jude Hill – Belfast
Emilia Jones – Coda
Daniel Lamont – Nowhere Special
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon

British Irish short Film
Diseased and Disorderly – dir. Andrew Kotting
Expensive Shit – dir. Adura Onashile
Know the Grass – dir. Sophie Littman
Play It Safe – dir. Mitch Kalisa
Precious Hair & Beauty – dir. John Ogunmuyiwa

Technical achievement Award
Cruella – Jenny Beavan, costumes
Dune – Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor and Gerd Nefzer, visual effects
Flee – Kenneth Ladekjær, animation
The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen, production design
The Green Knight – Andrew Droz Palermo, cinematography
The Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmão – Hélène Louvart, cinematography
Martin Eden – Fabrizio Federico and Aline Hervé, film editing
No Time to Die – Olivier Schneider, stunts
The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood, music
West Side Story – Justin Peck, choreography

Dungeons & Dragons: Honour Among Thieves review: charming fantasy romp casts a spell

Paramount is banking on a new franchise with Dungeons & Dragons: Honour Among Thieves, and may well get lucky. Imaginative and entertaining, this all-ages wannabe epic rolls a 20. An adaptation of the cult board game, the movie stars Chris Pine and Michelle Rodriguez as lovable rogues who find themselves questing after an ancient artefact. Imagine…

%d bloggers like this: